Dallas 22/11/63

“I watched it at my manager’s office. The next night, Saturday, I had a concert upstate, in Ithaca or Buffalo. There was a really down feeling in the air. I had to go on stage, I couldn’t cancel. I went to the hall and to my amazement the hall was filled. Everybody turned out for the concert. The song I was opening with was The Times They Are A-Changin’ and I thought, ‘Wow, how can I open with that song? I’ll get rocks thrown at me.’ That song was just too much for the day after the assassination. But I had to sing it, my whole concert takes off from there.

I know I had no understanding of anything. Something had just gone haywire in the country and they were applauding that song. And I couldn’t understand why they were clapping or why I wrote that song, even. I couldn’t understand anything. For me, it was just insane.” — Bob Dylan to writer Anthony Scaduto

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

  1. Although just 10 at the time, news of JFK’s assassination still feels stunning and confusing. Those feelings remained throughout the 60’s despite the hopes of the counterculture. The realities of both Altamont and Kent State did much to add to that dread. But knowing what you are up against is the driver to continue fighting for a better world.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Comments RSS